A Photographer’s Groan

I think you could say the same about photography/ers.  The sentiments across the professional photogs are  mutual.  All you have to do is research and read a number of photography forums to hear the groans.

I work to put a roof over my head and food on my table.  If you are doing it for the fun of it:  let your clientele know upfront so they can expect what they pay (or don’t pay) for.  This way, it doesn’t interfere with the professional price tag that comes with the professional photographer that offers a professional and quality product and service; and you aren’t contributing to a world-wide demise of pro photography as a career, especially for those that have been in the industry for a long time.  This teaches prospective clients that no matter how big or small, we all work for our bread and butter and we are worth our fees.

While I’m on the topic of groans.  If you plan to shoot weddings and have not done so yet, please do not post pictures on your website of weddings that you shot as a guest at one.  Maybe your website visitors don’t recognize the difference but it’s obvious to other photographers and it’s not right for a couple of reasons I can think of off the top of my head.  When I was starting out in wedding photography, I simply advertised it WHEN I had my first wedding under my belt and images I could display as my own project portfolio.  Getting in the way of a PAID photographer while they are shooting a wedding, so that you can steal a few posed pics to post on your website and mislead your visitors is just plain WRONG in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

