My Aging Hands and Menapoop

I remember when bloating was a horrible thing. Now I view bloating as a wonderful thing because it makes the wrinkles disappear. I use to judge the way I looked (young or old) by how my hands looked. If they looked wrinkled, I must be getting older. If they looked smooth and shiny, I could tell myself that I looked young for my age. My face always looked younger and had no wrinkles until this year.

The ironic part of my hand fetish is that I use to look at the hands of my friends when we were younger, and notice slight wrinkling and think to myself that it made them look more mature. Not older – just mature. I thought it was becoming. Because I’ve always looked younger than my age, I use to envy those that looked their age. Today, some of them look older than me. I suppose there is something to be said for that.

I still feel that I look younger than my age – which isn’t to say that I’m complaining or conceited – but reminding myself that I should be happy about it. On the other hand, there are times that “looking younger” doesn’t command the respect that I have come to expect as a 49 yr old adult.

Gram is 91 this year and says she owes her wrinkle-less face to Ponds. I’m sure they made a fortune off her! She’s been using it since the day it was marketed. She also believes that coloring your hair turns it gray sooner. She never colored her hair and had very few grays up until a couple of years ago. Today, she has more but to look at her, you would think she was in her 70’s.

So the bottom line for me is that I’m 49 yrs old and in need a hair cut and coloring, a pedicure, manicure, a facial and a full body massage.

  • A lot of cellulite remover for the hips and some botox for the lips.
  • Whitener for my teeth and some sandpaper for my feet.
  • Boobs aren’t too saggy ’cause they still keep the hubby happy.
  • A little wax here and there to be rid of some unwanted “new” hair.
  • I’d rather sleep at night but those hot flashes continue to bite.

And last but not least…. to enjoy my husband’s touch over a royal flush.

Ciao!
(Originally blogged July 25, 2005)

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

